MINUTES

Richard Hudson Chapter, AAUP September 17, 2024 Torreyson Library 206 and Zoom, 1:40 pm

I. Approval of Minutes

- A. Motion to approve offered by Joe Howard and seconded by Mike Rosenow.
- B. Motion to approve minutes passed.

II. Financial Report, Joe Howard

A. Secretary Joe Howard submitted the financial report and reported no change in the account balance from last year.

III. AAUP National Updates

- A. Discussion of the AAUP's Statement on Academic Boycotts that was approved by the AAUP's Council in August 2024.
- B. Information was shared about the partnership between the AAUP and the American Federation of Teachers (AFT) Local 6741.

IV. Discussion Items

- A. Discussion of whether UCA would benefit from a statement on freedom of expression similar to the University of Chicago's.
- B. The State AAUP is currently inactive. Brief discussion of advantages to reactivating it.

V. Announcements and Concerns

A. Discussion of the upcoming state legislative session.

VI. Adjournment

- A. Motion to adjourn offered by Joe Howard and seconded by Mike Rosenow.
- B. Motion carried.

Chapter Officers and At-Large Executive Committee Members

President (2024-2026) – Jessica Riedmueller (jriedmueller@uca.edu)

Vice President (2024-2025) – Jeremy Horpedahl (jhorpedahl@uca.edu)

Secretary (2024-2026) – Mike Rosenow (mrosenow@uca.edu)

Treasurer (2023-2025) – Joe Howard (jhoward@uca.edu)

Executive Committee:

Deanna Kay Rice (2024-2026) (dkrice@uca.edu)

Lorraine Duso Kitts (2024-2026) (lduso@uca.edu)

Heather Yates (2023-2025) (hyates@uca.edu)

Duston Morris (2023-2025) (dustonm@uca.edu)