MINUTES

Richard Hudson Chapter, AAUP September 14, 2023 Torreyson Library 206 and Zoom, 1:40 pm

I. Approval of Minutes

- A. Motion to approve offered by Duston Morris and seconded by Joe Howard
- B. Motion to approve minutes passed

II. Treasurer's Report

- 1. Joe Howard reported \$140 deposited 9/8/2023 from local dues
- 2. Total balance as of September 14, 2023: \$1489.26

III. Officer Elections

- A. Jeremy Horpedahl was nominated for Vice President and approved unanimously
- B. Joe Howard was nominated for Treasurer and approved unanimously
- C. Heather Yates and Duston Morris were nominated for At-Large positions on the Executive Committee and approved unanimously.

IV. Announcements and Concerns

A. UCA Commitment

- 1. Most spoke about the program with optimism while expressing concerns about certain aspects of the announcement
- 2. Concerns were raised that the service-learning requirement will increase the burden of uncompensated work time and resources for faculty.
- 3. Limited discussion about salaries for faculty and staff and whether the compensation fairly matches the growth of the student body
- 4. Concerns were raised regarding the benefits of the program including questions about the service hours scale, the omission of room and board from program funding, and whether the benefits of the program will be distributed equitably

B. Faculty Senate Coordination

- 1. AAUP and Faculty Senate leadership have expressed a desire for increased coordination
- 2. Both organizations would like to clarify the difference in their roles on campus

C. Threats to Academic Freedom

- 1. Discussion of proposed cuts to faculty and programs at WVU as bellwether for financial exigency as a cost-cutting measure
- 2. Discussion of the State of Florida classification of classroom speech as "government speech" to prevent individuals from using self-identified pronouns
- 3. Concerns were raised about implicit pressure to self-censor speech in the classroom

D. Dues

1. We will continue waiving local dues

V. Adjournment

- A. Motion to adjourn offered by Deanna Kay Rice and seconded by Kim Little.
 - 1. Motion to adjourn passed unanimously.

Chapter Officers and At-Large Executive Committee Members

President (2022-2024) – Roger Pauly (rpauly@uca.edu)
Vice President (2024-2025) – Jeremy Horpedahl (jhorpedahl@uca.edu)
Secretary (2022-2024) – Jessica Riedmueller (jriedmueller@uca.edu)
Treasurer (2024-2026) – Joe Howard (jhoward@uca.edu)

Executive Committee:

Deanna Kay Rice (2022-2024) (dkrice@uca.edu)
Lynn Burley (2022-2024) (lburley@uca.edu)
Heather Yates (2024-2026) (hyates@uca.edu)
Duston Morris (2024-2026) (dustonm@uca.edu)