MINUTES Richard Hudson Chapter, AAUP September 30, 2021 Torreyson Library 206 and Zoom, 1:40 pm

Members and guests in attendance: Lynn Burley, Jeremy Horpedahl, Deanna Kay Rice, Jessica Riedmueller, Heather Yates, Louis Young.

I. President's Report

A. Lynn attended the opening faculty Convocation, but there weren't many attendees.

- II. Chapter Dues and National Dues
 - A. Discussion about suspended dues and whether to reinstate
 - 1. Funds could be used to send someone to the national AAUP conference
 - 2. We should decide on a threshold balance for chapter funds
 - 3. Action: Motion to send out a digital ballot to vote on reinstating dues offered by Heather Yates, seconded by Deanna Kay Rice.
- III. Announcements and Concerns
 - A. Heather Yates raised concern about academic freedom at Arkansas institutions.
 - 1. The Arkansas legislature has been emboldened by the current environment and has proposed several measures targeting universities.
 - 2. Discussion continued about what AAUP can do within its purview. Suggestions included creating a statement of purpose and publicizing how AAUP can assist faculty and potentially help in the grievance process.
 - 3. It was noted that AAUP need to develop the infrastructure to help.
- IV. Adjournment
 - A. Motion to adjourn offered by Jessica Riedmueller and seconded by Heather Yates.
 - 1. Motion to adjourn passed unanimously.

Chapter Officers and At-Large Executive Committee Members

President (2020-2022) – Lynn Burley (<u>lburley@uca.edu</u>) Vice President (2021-2023) – Roger Pauly (<u>rpauly@uca.edu</u>) Secretary (2020-2022) – Jessica Riedmueller (<u>jriedmueller@uca.edu</u>) Treasurer (2021-2023) – Joe Howard (<u>jhoward@uca.edu</u>)

Executive Committee:

Jeremy Horpedahl (2020-2022) (jhorpedahl@uca.edu) Mike Scoles (2020-2022) (<u>michaels@uca.edu</u>) Heather Yates (2021-2023) (<u>hyates@uca.edu</u>) Katherine Conley (2021-2023) (<u>kconley@uca.edu</u>)