MINUTES

Richard Hudson Chapter, AAUP September 23, 2020 Zoom, 3:00pm

Members and guests in attendance: Roger Pauly, Deanna Kay Rice, Jane Dahlenburg, Joe Howard, Dean Covington, Jen Talbot, Lynn Burley, Mike Scoles, Jessica Riedmueller, John Parrack, Katherine Willis, Mike Schaefer.

I. Approval of Minutes

- A. Motion to approve offered by Katherine Willis and seconded by Mike Schaefer.
- B. Motion to approve the minutes was passed unanimously.

II. Treasurer's Report

- A. Michael Schaefer presented the Treasurer's report. The chapter has \$1,816.64. No new disbursements.
- B. Motion to accept the treasurer's report offered by Mike Scoles and seconded by Lynn Burley.
- C. Motion to accept the treasurer's report was passed unanimously.

III. Chapter Dues and National Dues

- A. Given COVID-19 and difficulties in collecting dues, discussion was held about waiving dues for 2020-2021.
 - 1. Motion by Mike Schaefer and seconded by Joe Howard to formally waive chapter dues for 2020-2021.
 - 2. Discussion whether waiving dues is okay with national AAUP. It was determined that we set our own dues.
 - 3. Motion to waive chapter dues for 2020-2021 was passed unanimously.

IV. Officer Elections

- A. Officer elections usually happen in the spring, but continuity of instruction was more important as the COVID situation developed.
- B. Lynn Burley was nominated for President and approved unanimously.
- C. Jessica Riedmueller was nominated for Secretary and approved unanimously.
- D. Mike Scoles and Jeremy Horpedahl were nominated for At-Large positions on the Executive Committee and approved unanimously.

V. Announcements and Concerns

- A. Question about whether a quorum is necessary to vote on issues/officers.
 - 1. Deemed to have a quorum unless an issue is raised.
 - 2. Mike Schaefer noted that there is nothing in the Bylaws about what constitutes a quorum.
- B. Discussion of documents for national.
 - 1. Ouestion whether we have a local Constitution
 - 2. Determined we can create a new one if we don't have one and it is needed.
 - 3. No action was taken regarding the matter.

- C. Discussion about advertising to faculty about AAUP membership
 - 1. Maybe waiving fees can be a driving force to get faculty to join
- D. Question about faculty raises and the financial status of the university
 - 1. No action taken.

VI. Adjournment

- A. Motion to adjourn offered by Mike Schaefer and seconded by Katherine Willis.
 - 1. Motion to adjourn passed unanimously.

Chapter Officers and At-Large Executive Committee Members

President (2020-2022) – Lynn Burley (lburley@uca.edu)
Vice President (2019-2021) – Amber Wilson (amberc@uca.edu)
Secretary (2020-2022) – Jessica Riedmueller (jriedmueller@uca.edu)

Treasurer (2019-2021) - Mike Schaefer (schaefer@uca.edu)

Executive Committee:

Jeremy Horpedahl (2020-2022) (jhorpedahl@uca.edu) Mike Scoles (2018-2020) (michaels@uca.edu) Roger Pauly (2019-2021) (rpauly@uca.edu) Katherine Willis (2019-2021) (kwillis@uca.edu)