MINUTES

Richard Hudson Chapter, AAUP November 16, 2020 Zoom, 3:00 PM

In attendance: Lynn Burley, Jessica Riedmueller, Jen Talbot, Michael Rosenow, Michael Scoles, Deanna Kay Rice, Vance Lewis, Elson Bihm, John Parrack, Heather Yates, Roger Pauly, Amy Thompson, Ronak Patel, Cindy Lea, Ben Cash

Called meeting to discuss the legislative request for information about the teaching of Critical Race Theory and the 1619 Project

I. Concerns expressed

- A. Request for syllabi was an initial concern, however syllabi will not be turned over to ADHE as part of the request
- B. Many are concerned about the implications and motivations behind the request
 - 1. Though we do not yet know why the request was made, the consequences have already begun to surface as some faculty have expressed that they may change their syllabus in response. This may also lead to faculty self-censoring in the classroom.
 - 2. Less concerned about the topics that have been targeted and more concerned that the legislature is targeting any classroom topic at all.
- C. Similarly, the tone of the ADHE email and the fact that this request has been forwarded at all is cause for alarm
 - 1. ADHE email seems to acknowledge that they realize the request for information is an incursion on academic freedom in the classroom
 - 2. Question raised if anyone from ADHE or Administration has explicitly asked why this request is being made
 - 3. Faculty Senates at other institutions are taking a "wait and see" approach, but we should be ready for further complications deriving from this request

II. Response to the request

- A. Faculty Senate will draft a resolution in support of academic freedom; SGA has committed to cosponsoring
- B. Motion for AAUP to release a statement to the UCA administration objecting to the request from ADHE and expressing the view that the implications of this request affect academic freedom in the classroom offered by Michael Scoles and seconded by Roger Pauly.
 - 1. President Lynn Burley will also confer with state AAUP president Sean Huss about drafting a coordinated statement to ADHE.
 - 2. Motion passed unanimously.

III. Adjournment

A. Motion to adjourn offered by Michael Scoles and seconded by Heather Yates.

Chapter Officers and At-Large Executive Committee Members

President (2020-2022) – Lynn Burley (<u>lburley@uca.edu</u>) Vice President (2019-2021) – Amber Wilson (<u>amberc@uca.edu</u>) Secretary (2020-2022) – Jessica Riedmueller (<u>jriedmueller@uca.edu</u>)

Treasurer (2019-2021) – Mike Schaefer (schaefer@uca.edu)

Executive Committee:

Jeremy Horpedahl (2020-2022) (jhorpedahl@uca.edu) Mike Scoles (2018-2020) (michaels@uca.edu) Roger Pauly (2019-2021) (rpauly@uca.edu) Katherine Willis (2019-2021) (kwillis@uca.edu)