MINUTES

Richard Hudson Chapter, AAUP May 3, 2022

Torreyson Library 206 and Zoom, 1:40 pm

I. Approval of Minutes

- A. Motion to approve offered by Joe Howard and seconded by Deanna Rice
- B. Motion to approve minutes passed unanimously

II. President's Report

- A. The executive committee met with the Provost regarding the report in the Echo about Dr. Frontaine.
 - 1. The committee discussed academic freedom on-campus
 - 2. The Provost did not address the personnel matter but reassured the committee that academic freedom supported by administration; this specific case is not a matter of academic freedom.
 - 3. There is currently an active academic freedom committee on-campus; AAUP is not involved unless requested by the faculty member making the academic freedom complaint.
- B. Faculty Senate, the Handbook Committee, and the Trustee's have removed the "three year and out" rule for visiting faculty.
 - 1. There has not been a proposal to remedy the overall problem of relying on visiting faculty rather than having permanent faculty lines.
- C. President Burley discussed President Davis's remarks regarding the situation at Henderson and state cuts to academic institutions as it relates to the African/African-American Studies program.
 - 1. The state has allowed the program to continue to see if the changes made will increase the graduation rate.
- D. Dues have not been collected since September 2019.
 - 1. After discussion, the group decided to revisit dues in fall 2022.

III. Officer Elections

- A. Roger Pauly was nominated for President and approved unanimously
- B. Jessica Riedmueller was nominated for Secretary and approved unanimously
- C. Deanna Rice was nominated for an At-Large position on the Executive Committee and approved unanimously.
- D. Jeremy Horpedahl was nominated for Vice-President—to complete the remaining term—and approved unanimously.
 - 1. Jeremy's term will end in 2023.

IV. Announcements and Concerns

A. Website

- 1. Jessica will initiate a conversation with web development about getting access to our old page or starting a new one.
- B. Given the climate in Arkansas around higher education and the recent news from Henderson, Roger suggested beginning a conversation about and with United Campus Workers through his contact, Seth Hutchinson.
- C. Brief discussion about recruiting new AAUP members at year-beginning meetings and fall convocation.

V. Adjournment

- A. Motion to adjourn offered by Jessica Riedmueller and seconded by Roger Pauly.
 - 1. Motion to adjourn passed unanimously.

Chapter Officers and At-Large Executive Committee Members

President (2022-2024) — Roger Pauly (rpauly@uca.edu)
Vice President (2022-2023) — Jeremy Horpedahl (jhorpedahl@uca.edu)
Secretary (2022-2024) — Jessica Riedmueller (jriedmueller@uca.edu)
Treasurer (2021-2023) — Joe Howard (jhoward@uca.edu)

Executive Committee:

Deanna Kay Rice (2022-2024) (<u>dkrice@uca.edu</u>) Lynn Burley (2022-2024) (<u>lburley@uca.edu</u>) Heather Yates (2021-2023) (<u>hyates@uca.edu</u>) Katherine Conley (2021-2023) (<u>kconley@uca.edu</u>)