## **MINUTES**

# Richard Hudson Chapter, AAUP April 19, 2021 Zoom, 3:00 pm

Members and guests in attendance: Elson Bihm, Lynn Burley, Jeremy Horpedahl, Joe Howard, Roger Pauly, Deanna Kay Rice, Jessica Riedmueller, Michael Schaefer, Michael Scoles, Katherine Willis, Amber Wilson, Heather Yates.

## I. Approval of Minutes

- A. Motion to approve offered by Heather Yates and seconded by Joe Howard.
- B. Motion to approve the minutes was passed unanimously.

#### II. Officer Elections

- A. Roger Pauly was nominated for Vice-President and approved unanimously.
- B. Joe Howard was nominated for Treasurer and approved unanimously.
- C. Katherine Willis and Heather Yates were nominated for At-Large positions on the Executive Committee and approved unanimously.

### III. Treasurer's Report

- A. Michael Schaefer presented the Treasurer's report. There were no expenditures in 2019-2020, and no dues have been collected since September 2019.
- B. The dues waiver will continue for 2021.
- C. Motion to accept the treasurer's report offered by Heather Yates and seconded by Amber Wilson.
- D. Motion to accept the treasurer's report was passed unanimously.

#### IV. Announcements and Concerns

- A. Discussed ways to increase interest and participation in AAUP on campus.
  - 1. Ideas include hosting an interest meeting over Zoom, presenting at Faculty Senate to increase synergy between the organizations, include AAUP info in New Faculty Orientation.

## B. Chapter Constitution and Bylaws

1. Discussion about gathering documents to start the bylaws process and getting access to the website.

### C. Non-tenure track faculty appointments

- 1. A concern has been raised about how and how often lecturer lines are created.
- Amber Wilson provided info about the justification process through Faculty Senate and how
  often this has occurred.

### V. Adjournment

- A. Motion to adjourn offered by Lynn Burley and seconded by Heather Yates.
  - 1. Motion to adjourn passed unanimously.

## **Chapter Officers and At-Large Executive Committee Members**

President (2020-2022) – Lynn Burley (<u>lburley@uca.edu</u>) Vice President (2021-2023) – Roger Pauly (<u>rpauly@uca.edu</u>) Secretary (2020-2022) – Jessica Riedmueller (<u>jriedmueller@uca.edu</u>) Treasurer (2021-2023) – Joe Howard (<u>jhoward@uca.edu</u>)

## **Executive Committee:**

Jeremy Horpedahl (2020-2022) (jhorpedahl@uca.edu) Mike Scoles (2020-2022) (michaels@uca.edu) Heather Yates (2021-2023) (hyates@uca.edu) Katherine Willis (2021-2023) (kwillis@uca.edu)