# **MINUTES**

## Richard Hudson Chapter, AAUP April 25, 2024 Torreyson Library 206 and Zoom, 1:40 pm

### I. Approval of Minutes

- A. Motion to approve offered by Kim Little and seconded by Heather Yates
- B. Motion to approve minutes passed

#### II. Officer Elections

- A. Jessica Riedmueller was nominated for President and approved unanimously.
- B. Michael Rosenow was nominated for Secretary and approved unanimously.
- C. Deanna Kay Rice and Lorraine Duso Kitts were nominated for At-Large positions on the Executive Committee and approved unanimously.

#### III. Announcements and Concerns

- A. Protests
  - 1. Brief discussion of protests at academic institutions across the country.
- B. Transparency
  - 1. Concern was raised regarding the "off the record" comments from administration in Faculty Senate meetings.
- C. Threats to Academic Freedom
  - 1. Discussion of how universities are using "profitability" as a tactic to remove programs and reduce faculty at some institutions.

#### **Chapter Officers and At-Large Executive Committee Members**

President (2024-2026) – Jessica Riedmueller (<u>iriedmueller@uca.edu</u>)

Vice President (2024-2025) – Jeremy Horpedahl (<u>ihorpedahl@uca.edu</u>)

Secretary (2024-2026) – Mike Rosenow (mrosenow@uca.edu)

Treasurer (2023-2025) – Joe Howard (jhoward@uca.edu)

#### **Executive Committee:**

Deanna Kay Rice (2024-2026) (dkrice@uca.edu)

Lorraine Duso Kitts (2024-2026) (lduso@uca.edu)

Heather Yates (2023-2025) (hyates@uca.edu)

Duston Morris (2023-2025) (dustonm@uca.edu)